DIA Elects New Board Members From Tri-County Art Institute Authorities


DETROIT — The Detroit Institute of Arts (DIA) announced the election of 11 members to its board of directors at its meeting on Nov. 14. As part of an agreement following the DIA’s successful millage in August, art institute authorities established in Macomb, Oakland and Wayne counties each appointed two members to the board: Wayne county: Hubert Massey and Amy DeBrunner; Macomb county: Lillian Demas and Donald Ritzenhein; and Oakland county: Jennifer Fischer and Thomas Guastello. 

Also joining the board are Andrea Dickson, Antoine Garibaldi, Mary Kramer, Linda Orlans and Irvin Reid. Re-elected are Nicole Eisenberg, Mary Ann Gorlin, Reuben Munday, Meryl Podolsky, Sandra Seligman, Rhonda Welburn and Henry Wineman. Several long-time board members were elected to emeritus status: Andrew L. Camden, Elaine C. Driker, David E. Meador, John W. Stroh III and Amanda Van Dusen. 

“We welcome all our new board members and the talent, experience and enthusiasm they bring,” said Eugene A. Gargaro, DIA board chair. “With the vote of confidence shown by the millage, the DIA is on the path to financial long-term stability, and we look forward to the new and current board members helping us achieve that goal.”