MSU President Dr. Samuel L. Stanley Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Courtesy of Michigan State University
Courtesy of Michigan State University

Dr. Samuel L. Stanley, president of Michigan State University in East Lansing, has been elected to the American Academy of Arts and Science.

Since 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences has honored excellence and convened leaders to examine new ideas, address issues of importance to the nation and world, and advance the public good. More than 13,500 members have been elected to the academy since it was formed.

“President Stanley is a leader who has championed MSU and led us through an unprecedented global pandemic, while keeping our institution focused on the aspirations of our strategic plan,” says Teresa L. Woodruff, provost at MSU. “At the same time, he has been a leading national voice for biosecurity, science and science literacy and the ways in which higher education is a critical driver of economic development, particularly in the state of Michigan.

“I am delighted to welcome President Stanley into the American Academy of Arts and Sciences and know he will be an active presence and continue to lead national thinking in higher education.”

Stanley is the 12th MSU scholar and first MSU president to be elected to the academy. A champion for science and basic research, Stanley has testified before Congress and written op-eds on the importance of science and science literacy; workforce issues in science, science and security; the need to invest in basic research to remain globally competitive; and how to communicate the excitement and essentiality of science.

“The academy was founded on the belief that the new republic should honor truly accomplished individuals and engage them in meaningful work,” says Nancy C. Andrews, chair of the academy’s board. “The academy’s dual mission continues to this day. Membership is an honor, and also an opportunity to shape ideas and influence policy in areas as diverse as the arts, democracy, education, global affairs, and science.”

The 2022 class includes 260 other members in academia, the arts, industry, public policy, and research. The complete list of individuals elected in 2022, including 37 international honorary members from 16 countries, is available here.