Southfield-based SME Elects Winston F. Erevelles Its 2024 President

Winston Erevelles
Winston Erevelles

SME, the nonprofit committed to accelerating new manufacturing technology adoption and building North America’s talent, named Winston F. Erevelles as its president in 2024.

Established in 1932 as a nonprofit organization, SME represents the entire North American manufacturing industry, including manufacturers, academia, professionals, students, and the communities in which they operate.

The announcement was made on Nov. 5 during a ceremony at the SME Fall Gala in Long Beach, Calif., SME also announced the results of its 2023 election and introduced its newly elected officers, directors, and council representatives. Their terms will begin in January 2024.

Jeffrey A. Abell, General Motors Co., in Warren was named the organization’s 2024 treasurer.

The officers and international directors of the SME board of directors function as the governing body of SME with budget authority and oversight responsibility. Officers of the board serve one-year terms, and directors serve two-year terms. They include:

  • 2024 president – Winston F. Erevelles, St. Mary’s University, San Antonio, Texas
  • 2024 president-elect – Vincent W. Howell Sr., FSME, CMfgE, Corning Inc. (retired), Clemons, N.C.
  • 2024 vice president – Rebecca R. Taylor, The National Center for Manufacturing Sciences, Washington, D.C.
  • 2024 treasurer – Jeffrey A. Abell, General Motors Co., Warren.
  • 2024 secretary – Marie Kissel, Abbott2024 international directors of the SME board of directors are:
  • Bryan D. Albrecht, Gateway Technical College (retired).
  • Edye S. Buchanan, BriskHeat Corp.
  • Jian Cao, PhD, Northwestern University.
  • Bryan G. Dods, Oerlikon AM (retired).
  • Jacqueline A. El Sayed, American Society for Engineering Education.
  • Hitomi Yamaguchi Greenslet, University of Florida.
  • Brett A. Peters, University of Wisconsin-Madison.
  • Dean S. Phillips, Link Systems.
  • John D. Russell, Fives Inc.
  • Tony L. Schmitz, University of Tennessee, Knoxville.
  • Albert J. Wavering, National Institute of Standards and Technology (retired).

“We are thrilled to welcome this group of industry veterans to the team,” says Bob Willig, executive director and CEO of SME. “Their thought leadership will produce remarkable advancements for North American manufacturing to drive competitiveness, resiliency, and national security. With their expertise, we are confident that SME is positioned to accelerate the widespread adoption of manufacturing technology and build North America’s talent and capabilities. Our leadership team is dedicated to advancing manufacturing as a diverse, thriving, and valued ecosystem.”