National Academy of Medicine Elects Five U-M Faculty Members

Five professors from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine, the highest honorary society in the United States for researchers in health and medicine.
F. DuBois Bowman
F. DuBois Bowman is one of five U-M faculty elected to the National Academy of Medicine. // Photo courtesy of the University of Michigan

Five professors from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor have been elected to the National Academy of Medicine, the highest honorary society in the United States for researchers in health and medicine.

DuBois Bowman, Justin Dimick, Christopher Friese, Karin Muraszko, and Henry Paulson join a group of fewer than 60 current and former U-M faculty to have been so honored.

Bowman is an expert in the statistical analysis of brain imaging data and is involved with research on neurological disorders including Parkinson’s disease, Alzheimer’s disease, depression, schizophrenia, and substance addiction.

Through his research, he has helped reveal brain patterns that show disruption from psychiatric diseases, detect indicators for neurological diseases, determine more individualized therapeutic treatments for patients, and determine threats to brain health from environmental factors.

Bowman is a fellow of both the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Statistical Association. He has previously served as president of the Eastern North American Region of the International Biometric Society. Bowman earned a bachelor’s degree in mathematics from Morehouse College, a master’s degree in biostatistics from U-M, and a doctorate in biostatistics from the University of North Carolina.

Dimick has been elected for elevating the science of health care policy evaluation, quality measurement, and comparative effectiveness research within surgical populations. Through his research, he has shown the variation in how surgery patients react after their operations, as well as the importance of surgeon, hospital, and policy factors that impact that variation.

Dimick has held national leadership positions including president of the Association for Academic Surgery, chair of the Health Services Organization and Delivery Study Section at the National Institutes of Health, associate editor at Annals of Surgery, and surgical innovation editor at JAMA Surgery.

He also served as an adviser for several organizations such as the BlueCross BlueShield Association, American College of Surgeons-National Surgical Quality Improvement Program, Medicare Payment Advisory Commission, and U.S. News and World Report’s “Best Hospital” rankings. He is a graduate of Cornell University and Johns Hopkins Medical School and completed his surgical training at U-M. He also had a health services research fellowship at the Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice.

Friese focuses on measuring and improving the quality of cancer care delivery and has developed research findings between favorable nurse practice environments and lower surgical mortality. In his most recent work, he examines patterns of hazardous drug exposure in oncology nurses through a study funded by the National Cancer Institute, National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health, National Institute of Nursing Research, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality, American Cancer Society, and Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Friese received his bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees from the University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing and completed a postdoctoral fellowship in Cancer Control and Outcomes at Harvard University/Dana-Farber Cancer Institute. He is also a member of the American Academy of Nursing.

Muraszko has led Michigan Medicine’s Department of Neurosurgery since 2005 and is the first woman in the country to chair an academic neurosurgery department. Her area of expertise involves the treatment of individuals with brain tumors and neurological anomalies.

Muraszko received her undergraduate degree from Yale University. She also completed her medical degree from Colombia University, as well as her residency training in neurological surgery and fellowships in pediatric neurosurgery. Muraszko is board certified by the American Board of Neurological Surgeons and is a member of the American Association of Neurological Surgeons and Congress of Neurological Surgeons.

Paulson directs the Michigan Alzheimer’s Disease Center and co-directs the U-M Protein Folding Diseases Initiative. His research and clinical interests involve the causes and treatment of age-related neurodegenerative diseases.

Paulson received his medical degree and doctorate in cell biology from Yale University in 1990. He then went on to complete a neurology residency and neurogenetics/movement disorders fellowships at the University of Pennsylvania.

He has also served on the scientific advisory boards of several disease-related national organizations and is past chair of the Board of Scientific Counselors at the National Institute for Neurological Disorders and Stroke at the National Institutes of Health.