Woodward Avenue Action Association Names New Leadership


The Woodward Avenue Action Association has added new leadership to its board of directors and its executive board.

Elected to the board are: Chairman Tim Ross, CEO and president of Ross Mortgage Co.; Vice chairman Jeffrey Gisstenar, member at large; Treasurer Jane Bais-DiSessa, deputy mayor of Pontiac; and Secretary Ann Perry, city commissioner in Pleasant Ridge.

The 2016 Executive Committee includes: Beth Dryden, vice president of communications and public affairs at the Detroit Medical Center; Heaster Wheeler, chief innovative officer, Black Family Development; Jean Chamberlain, representing Brooks Patterson, Oakland County executive; Kurt Metzger, mayor of Pleasant Ridge; Mark Hackshaw, Highland Park Business Association; and new member Tupac Hunter, representing Warren Evans, Wayne County executive.

Leaving the organization is past chair Harriet Saperstein, who served the association since its inception in 1992. Executive Director Deborah Schutt has also stepped down to pursue other opportunities.

The Woodward Avenue Action Association preserves the heritage and builds prosperity in the 27-mile Woodward Corridor from Detroit to Pontiac. Woodward Avenue is a member of the  National Scenic Byway’s Collection, a group of 150 distinct roadways in America that recognize roadways for intrinsic qualities.