Two Companies Win First DTE/ESD E-Challenge Competition


SOUTHFIELD — The Mackinac Technology Co. in Grand Rapids and Los Angeles-based Enovative Group, Inc. were selected the winners of the first ever E-Challenge launched in 2012 by DTE and The Engineering Society of Detroit. The winners received up to $250,000 to fund the technology demonstrations.

 The two were selected out of 65 applicants. They had the highest projected potential energy savings and have the potential to fill a gap in the DTE energy efficiency portfolio. Awards were based on the inherent qualities of each project as perceived by a panel of judges from ESD.

The Mackinac Group developed a highly effective insulation system that employs full size window inserts for R-10 thermal performance. Low-e panes were produced by Fraunhofer and frame and spacer components by Mackinac. The company used Grand Rapids-based Calvin College to conduct the testing.

The Enovative Group, Inc., which has worked on numerous projects in Michigan, created a Demand Controlled Water Recirculation for Multifamily Properties. This is an advanced control system that regulates the operation of the hot water recirculation pump in multifamily, dorms or hotel settings so that it only runs when needed, reducing unnecessary heat loss from the loop and boiler fire time. The group used eight different sites in Ann Arbor, Canton, Riverview, Detroit, and Clawson to conduct their testing.

Project case studies for the 2012 awards will be developed in the third quarter of 2013 and will include DTE Energy energy-efficiency rebate requirements. An announcement about the 2013 E-Challenge Competition will be forthcoming.

In addition to the E-Challenge, several other local companies received special awards for their energy efficiency programs. The Energy Savings Award recognizes companies that have made significant contributions in reducing energy.  The Sustainable Energy Program Award recognizes companies that have made most contribution in the area of energy conservation behavioral programs.  The winners are:

  • DTE Energy Savings Project of the Year: Industrial: Air Technologies, Grand Rapids and Livonia
  • DTE Energy Savings Project of the Year:  Commercial: Michigan Interfaith Power and Light, Royal Oak
  • DTE Energy Savings Project of the Year: Commercial: Hiller’s Markets (throughout Michigan)
  • DTE Energy Savings Project of the Year: Municipal: The City of Center Line
  • DTE Energy Savings Project of the Year: Small Business: Meadows Party Store, Farmington Hills
  • DTE Sustainable Energy Program of the Year: Commercial: Palace Sports & Entertainment, Auburn Hills
  • DTE Sustainable Energy Program of the Year: Small Business: Temple Kol Ami, West Bloomfield

Facebook Comments