TiECon Midwest 2010 Unveils List of Elite Entrepreneurs: TiE20 Winners

Winners From California, Indiana, Michigan, New Jersey, Texas

FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich., Oct. 25 — TiECon Midwest 2010, the Midwest’s largest conference on entrepreneurship and presented by TiE Detroit, today announced the winners of the TiE20 Midwest Industry Awards. Selected from more than 1,000 nominated companies, the winners represent the most enterprising startup companies in four focus segments: Internet, Media, Mobile and Software. The TiE20 winners will be honored at TiECon 2010 on Fri., Oct. 29, 2010, at 7:30 p.m. at The Henry in Dearborn, MI. A full list of the TiE20 winners is available at http://www.tieconmidwest.org/tie20-winners.html (see list that follows).

While the TiE20 winners are diverse in terms of size, progress, maturity and location, they share a common thread of innovation, ingenuity, strong management teams and overall quality of ideas. “The Detroit chapter of TiE introduced TiE20 Midwest Industry Awards last year to great success that gave increased visibility and connectivity to our winners. This year, we have received an overwhelming response,” say Mateen Syed and Luxmi Dutt Sharma, TiE20 Chairs.

“TiE20 winners represent the finest in entrepreneurship and serve as role models for all entrepreneurs aspiring to success in a demanding marketplace,” says Tel Ganesan, TiE Detroit president.

The TiE20 judging process includes meticulous planning, screening and judging by prominent entrepreneurs, venture capitalists, corporate executives and other experts. TiE also acknowledges the nominee companies and those who contributed to the TiE20 selection process by publicly voting for the finalists. Over 1,000 votes were cast for 40 finalists in a little over two weeks, helping to narrow the field down to 20 winners. TiE20 winners will present their companies in a live showcase over the course of TiECon Midwest 2010, on Oct. 28 and 29. In addition to being featured at the event, winners also receive ongoing support throughout the year.

TiE20 Winners 2010

Internet Category

AdaptivePortal (Minneapolis, MN)

BodegaBid (Ann Arbor, MI)

Ergun Technologies / OwnPos (Ann Arbor, MI)

InXero Inc.(Austin, TX)

Joomag (Calif.)

Media Category

Dingora (Bloomington, IN)

DSLMi (Ann Arbor, MI)

Learning Interfaces (Grand Rapids, MI)

Metro Woman (Rockwood, Mich.)

Michigan Film Reel (Grand Rapids, MI)

Mobile Category

App Discover (Redwood Shores, CA)

Bipper (New Jersey & Norway)

GoPoint Technology (Rochester Hills, MI)

MacroView Labs (San Francisco, CA)

Waze (Palo Alto, CA)

Software Category

ERT Systems LLC (Ann Arbor, MI)

OntoMed LLC (Ann Arbor, MI)

Ordered List (South Bend, IN)

Shepherd Intelligent Systems (Ann Arbor, MI)

Zferral (Royal Oak, MI)

Online registration and more information are available for TiECon Midwest 2010 at http://www.tieconmidwest.org/. For more information, contact Jessica Matthews, Conference Coordinator, TiE Detroit (248) 254-4013 or via e-mail at jessica@tieconmidwest.org.

About TiE20

The TiE20 award is presented by TiE, a global, not-for-profit, non-political, and non-religious organization dedicated to fostering entrepreneurs across its international network sponsored by top venture capital firms and Fortune 500 corporations.