SME Names 2014 Officers and Board of Directors


DEARBORN ─ The director of the federal Advanced Manufacturing National Program Office has been elected to lead SME as it continues its new strategic direction and brand position. Michael F. Molnar, was recently sworn in as the 2014 president of the 81-year-old organization dedicated to advancing manufacturing and attracting future generations.

Following a 25-year industry career in advanced manufacturing Molnar, joined the National Institute of Standards and Technology of the U.S. Department of Commerce as the first chief manufacturing officer, and now leads the office to coordinate interagency activities and Administration initiatives in advanced manufacturing. Molnar also leads the NIST Advanced Manufacturing Office, for extramural programs and liaison to industry and academia for manufacturing.

Since joining SME in 1982, Molnar has held many leadership positions including several roles on the SME Board and Executive Committee, chair of the SME Member Council, chair of the Technical Community Network, chair of the former Robotics International Association of SME, chair of the Automated Manufacturing & Assembly Community, chair of the Robotics Tech Group and organizing chair for several SME conferences.

Also elected to serve on the 2014 SME Executive Committee:

President-Elect: Wayne F. Frost, retired as a production system project manager and product quality systems auditor of John Deere Waterloo Works after a successful 37-year career. He has served SME at the international and former region and chapter levels. Frost served two terms on the SME Board of Directors from 2004-07 and two terms from 2008-12.

Vice President: Dean L. Bartles is vice president and general manager for the Ordnance and Tactical Systems Division of General Dynamics Corp. He has served in both domestic and international capacities with emphasis on manufacturing facility startups plant management, program management, research and development, and production management. Bartles has a bachelor’s in business administration from Shepherd College, a master’s in international business from Tampa College, an MBA from Shippensburg University and a doctorate in business administration from Nova Southeastern University.

Secretary/Treasurer: Sandra L. Bouckley is vice president, operations for electrical systems and services business for the Electrical Sector of Eaton Corp. She is responsible for developing and implementing the ESSB manufacturing strategy, while providing functional leadership across manufacturing, quality, operational excellence, supply chain, logistics, and environmental health and safety.

The full roster of the 2014 SME Executive Committee and board of directors can be found here.