Public Relations Society of America – Detroit Names New President


PR veteran Don Tanner has been named president of the Public Relations Society of America – Detroit Chapter for 2016.

Tanner has more than 30 years of communications experience that includes the past 10 as a co-founder of Tanner Friedman, with Matt Friedman, providing public relations and marketing counsel to clients in nearly all industries. His background also includes major market print and broadcast journalist positions, including reporter for WWJ Newsradio 950, WXYT-AM and others.

Tanner, of West Bloomfield, holds a Bachelor of Arts in speech communications and business from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Also elected to the Executive Board: President-elect Tim Wieland, APR, manager, media and public relations, Robert Bosch LLC; Treasurer Tom O’Connell, senior account executive, Business Wire; Secretary Megan Soule, APR, communications manager, General Motors; and Immediate Past President Debra Ortisi, APR, executive director, communications, Yanfeng Automotive Interiors.

The newly appointed executive board members will serve a three-year term focusing on the Detroit Chapter’s leadership and governance.

Additionally, 2016 Board of Directors named were: Karah Davenport, Stratacomm; Kim Eberhardt, Tanner Friedman; Maribeth Farkas, Caponigro Public Relations Inc.; Gayle Joseph, Rock Gaming LLC; Beth Marmarelli, University of Michigan Dearborn; Jasmin Nadalizadeh, UAW Retiree Medical Benefits Trust; Andrea Pecoraro, Identity; Elizabeth Robbins-Sabourin, Franco Public Relations Group; Anne Santori, APR; Stephanie Scheer, and Jennifer Wilt, APR, DTE Energy.