MIS President Named Chair of Michigan Travel Commission


BROOKLYN —  Michigan International Speedway President Roger Curtis has been elected as chairman of the Michigan Travel Commission in recognition for his dedication to growing the tourism industry in the state. His peers on the commission selected Curtis for this top leadership position.

Curtis was originally appointed to the Michigan Travel Commission in 2007 and was reappointed for a second term on the commission by Gov. Rick Snyder in 2011. He will serve through 2015.

As one of only 13 individuals selected by the commission, Curtis and his team are tasked with helping to expand tourism business in the state.

“The award-winning Pure Michigan campaign has become more than just a slogan — it has become a powerful brand and rallying cry for our great state,” Curtis said. “Though we are proud that MIS is the State’s largest welcome center with our two NASCAR race weekends and the new Faster Horses Festival, there is so much more to our amazing state – from the resurging Detroit to the ‘west coast’ to the beautiful Upper Peninsula. It is going to be an honor to serve as the chair and continue to help spread the word to the world about all that Michigan has to offer.”

The Michigan Travel Commission is in charge of promoting tourism in the state of Michigan and implementing the Michigan Tourism Strategic Plan. The plan focuses on two key areas of promoting tourism in Michigan. The first is helping the tourism industry to grow and prosper over the next five years. The second part of the plan describes the eight goals in helping Michigan to prosper.  

Curtis is also co-chair of the Promotion, Marketing and Communications subcommittee working to implement the Strategic Plan. He shares this role alongside Barry Owens, general manager of Treetops Resort. The goal of the committee is to discuss strategies to increase tourism through a variety of communication objectives.

The Michigan Travel Commission consists of 13 members appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of the Senate. Members of the committee represent all geographic areas of the state and are all experienced in the travel, tourism and recreation industry or an associated field.