Michigan's Future Women Leaders in Technology Honored


DETROIT — The Michigan Council of Women in Technology awarded the future generation of women leaders in the technology industry with scholarships and laptops at its ninth annual Scholarship Recognition and Partner Awards on May 15.

The 2014 recipients include Andrea Salamay, Sierre Wolfkostin, Sierris Smith, Zilphia Martin, Barbara Tegart, Alexandria Chisholm, Rachel Polus, Olivia Miller, Melinda Kothbauer, Rebecca Wolanin, Lauren Rinkus, Hannah Kochendoerfer, and Savannah Ruby. The scholarships and laptops they were awarded will help them pursue careers in IT fields.

“The directions my career can go thanks to MCWT are virtually endless,” said Kothbauer, a recent graduate of Midland High School who will be majoring in computer science at University of Michigan. “I want to make a difference in Michigan and our country.”