Michigan Association of Counties Names New Board Leadership


Lansing-based The Michigan Association of Counties  has elected board officers and members for 2015-16 at its recent annual conference.

Jerry Doucette, a veteran county commissioner in Alger County in the Upper Peninsula, is the new MAC president. Shelley Goodman Taub of Oakland County is now first vice president and Matthew Bierlein, a Tuscola County commissioner, is the new second vice president for the MAC board.

New directors for the board chosen were:

  • Joe Stevens of Dickinson County, representing MAC’s Region 1;
  • Christian Marcus of Antrim County, representing MAC’s Region 2; and
  • Philip Kuyers of Ottawa County, representing MAC’s Region 3.

Doucette is the chairman of the Alger County Board of Commissioners. Before his retirement, he worked in power generation at the Presque Isle Power Plant in Marquette for 40 years. He was a member of the International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers.

Also serving as directors on the board for this term are: Ken Borton (Otsego County), Donald Disselkoen (Ottawa County), Pat Gardner (Newaygo County), Michael Hanley (Saginaw County), Joseph Palamara (Wayne County), Shelly Pinkelman (Crawford County), Robert Showers (Clinton County), Michael Spisz (Oakland County) and Max Thiele (Allegan County). Jon Campbell of Allegan County also will serve on the board as immediate past president.

For more information on MAC, go to micounties.org.