Henry Ford Health System Wins National Patient Safety & Quality Award


tDETROIT – Henry Ford Health System has been selected by the National Quality Forum (NQF) and The Joint Commission to receive the prestigious 2011 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award.

tHenry Ford is one of two honorees nationwide in the Innovation in Patient Safety and Quality at the Local Level category.

tThe award recognizes Henry Ford for its successful “No Harm Campaign,” which aims to decrease harm events through enhancing the system’s culture of safety by reporting and studying harm events, researching causality, identifying priorities, redesigning care to eliminate harm, and employing a comprehensive set of measures across its facilities.

tFrom 2008 to 2011, Henry Ford’s “No Harm Campaign” resulted in a 26 percent reduction in harm events and 12 percent reduction in mortality system-wide. By comparison, the average reduction in harm events is roughly 1 percent to 2 percent per year in most U.S. hospitals.

tThe 2011 John M. Eisenberg Patient Safety and Quality Award will be presented April 5 at the 2012 NQF Annual Conference and Membership Meeting in Washington, DC.

tLaunched in 2002 by NQF and The Joint Commission, the patient safety awards program honors John M. Eisenberg, M.D., M.B.A., former administrator of the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).

tDr. Eisenberg was one of the founding leaders of NQF and sat on its Board of Directors.  In his roles both as AHRQ administrator and chair of the federal government’s Quality Inter-Agency Coordination Task Force, he was a passionate advocate for patient safety and health care quality and personally led AHRQ’s grant program to support patient safety research.