Engineering Society Plans Awards Event


SOUTHFIELD — On Thursday, June 27, The Engineering Society of Detroit (ESD) will recognize and applaud the achievements and contributions of 23 professionals in the fields of science, technology, engineering, and math, as well as celebrate the best construction and design projects in Michigan.
                In addition to honoring the best and brightest, the event will also pay tribute to Henry Ford on the occasion of his 150th birthday. Edsel B. Ford II, great-grandson of Henry Ford will receive this year’s ESD Rackham Humanitarian Award. Other honorees are:

Lifetime Achievement Award:
David S. Meynell, FESD, Chairman & President, Dürr Systems, Inc.

Distinguished Service Award:
Katherine M. Banicki, FESD, President & CEO, Testing Engineers & Consultants
Kouhaila G. Hammer, CPA, President & CEO, Ghafari Associates, LLC
Matthew N. Roush, Technology Editor, WWJ Newsradio 950
Bill Sower, Director, Christopher & Virginia Sower Center for Successful Schools

Outstanding Committee, Council or Leadership Awards:
Eugenie Abboud, Controls Design Engineer, General Motors Company
Waldemar Czarnik, Principal Energy Manager, DTE Energy, Marketing & Renewables
Thelma Dobson, Manager, Program Management, DTE Energy, Marketing & Renewables
Jeffrey M. Gallant, Senior Attorney, Construction Practice Group, Clark Hill PLC
Patti Miller, Marketing and Renewables Program Administrator, DTE Energy
Charles T. Robinson, PE, LEED AP, President & CEO, Albert Kahn Associates, Inc.

The ESD Institute David A. Skiven Leadership Award:
David Dugger, Director, Early College Alliance, Eastern Michigan University

Technology Century Image Award:
Richard E. Marburger, PhD, FESD, Lawrence Technological University
Dennis M. King, FAIA, FESD, LEED AP, DMKING Consulting LLC

Outstanding Young Engineer of the Year:
Frenae F. Smith, Codes & Standards Supervisor, DTE Energy

Outstanding Student Engineer of the Year
Luke Popiel, Wayne State University

Outstanding High School Student of the Year:
David Dai, Mount Pleasant High School

ESD College of Fellows Inductees:
Michael D. Bolon, Senior Vice President, U.S. Marine Corps and U.S. Navy Business Sector, General Dynamics Land Systems
Susan S. Hawkins, Senior Vice President, Performance Excellence, Henry Ford Health System
David C. Munson, Jr., PhD, Robert J. Vlasic Dean of Engineering, University of Michigan
Ahmad Pourmovahed, PhD, Professor of Mechanical Engineering, Kettering University
Satish S. Udpa, PhD, Executive Vice President for Administrative Services and University Distinguished Professor, Michigan State University

The event will kickoff at 5:30 p.m. at the Henry Ford Museum and the dinner and presentation of the awards will follow at 6:30 p.m. Cost to attend: $125 for ESD members/$150 non-members. To register, visit or call 248-353-0735.