Detroiters to be Honored for Philanthropy Efforts


DETROIT — The Association of Fundraising Professionals Greater Detroit Chapter has named the 2014 AFP Philanthropy Award recipients to be honored at the National Philanthropy Day Dinner on Nov. 12. Awardees are selected based on their exceptional philanthropic contributions and commitment to enhancing southeastern Michigan.

Eugene and Marcia Applebaum will be presented with the Max M. Fisher Award for Outstanding Philanthropist for their philanthropic contributions to Beaumont Health System, Wayne State University, the University of Michigan, and the surrounding community.  As a business leader, philanthropist, humanitarian, and mentor, Eugene Applebaum has served on several non-profit boards in metro Detroit. He was appointed to the position of Beaumont Trustee in 2006, and to the Beaumont Foundation Board of Directors in 2007.

Eugene and Elaine C. Driker will receive the George W. Romney Award for Lifetime Achievement in Volunteerism for their work with numerous organizations, including the Ralph C. Wilson Foundation, Jewish Vocational Service, National Yiddish Book Center, Detroit Chapter, American Jewish Committee, Barbara Ann Karmanos Cancer Center, and United Way Community Services.

The Edmund T. Ahee Jewel Award for Outstanding Volunteer Fundraiser will be presented to Mark Blanke and Michael Perkins.  Blanke is the current CFO of Delfingen Corp. and Perkins is the corporate sales manager for WDET Radio in Detroit. Blanke and Perkins have been actively involved in the southeast Michigan LGBTQ community for more than 20 years where they serve on boards, volunteer, and help to raise funds by both chairing and regularly attending events.

The Outstanding Corporation Award will be presented to Strategic Staffing Solutions for being a pillar of compassion, commitment, and transformation in the city of Detroit. Eastern Market, Detroit Police Mounted Police Unit, Michigan Humane Society, The Detroit Zoo, and other organizations are the beneficiaries of their contributions to enhancing life in Detroit.

Audrey M. Olmstead, vice president and chief development officer at Walsh College will receive the Dr. John S. Lore Outstanding Fundraising Executive Award. Olmstead has 24 years of experience in higher education and health care fund development including Oakland University, Wayne State University, State University of New York at Buffalo, and Walsh College.

The award for Outstanding Foundation will be presented to the The Jewish Fund who have been instrumental in directly impacting the lives of vulnerable populations throughout metropolitan Detroit through organizations such as JARC, JVS, Alternatives for Girls, the Children’s Trust Fund, Forgotten Harvest, the United Jewish Foundation of Metropolitan Detroit, Community Health and Social Services, and the Epilepsy Foundation.

Paul Anger will be awarded The Neal Shine Award for Media Commitment to Philanthropy for his global viewpoint, attention to detail, ability to break down problems from their origin, and relentless focus on seeing things through to completion.  As editor of the Detroit Free Press, he hopes to see Detroit strengthened and he wants the Free Press to make a difference in the community.

Mark Hooven will receive the Sparky Anderson Award for Outstanding Youth in Philanthropy.  In response to hearing about Hope Center’s struggle to keep food on the shelves, 17-year-old Hooven answered the call to action by holding a “Slash Hunger” charity concert.  He raised all monies to cover expenses so that 100 percent of proceeds raised benefitted Hope Center.

Facebook Comments