AIA Michigan Names Design Award Winners


AIA Michigan names the winners for the 2013 Design Awards listed below.

Recognition Awards: 

•  The Gold Medal winner: Arthur F. Smith, FAIA

•  The Hastings Award winner: Frederick F. Butters, FAIA

•  The President’s Award winner: Paul H. Goldsmith, RA

•  The Young Architect Award winners: Jeffrey D. Johnson, AIA and Matthew Taylor, AIA

•  The Associate Member of the Year Award winner: Amanda Harrell Seyburn, Assoc. AIA

•  The Honorary Affiliate Award winners: Lynne Merrill Francis, Hon. Aff. AIAMI and Michelle Saroki, Hon. Aff. AIAMI

•  2013 College of Fellows Inductees: Paul A. Dannels, FAIA and Cynthia K. Pozolo, FAIA

•  The Firm of the Year Award winner: SmithGroupJJR  


Design Awards

Steel Award Winner: Robert B. Aikens Commons (Integrated Design Solutions & Hartman-Cox Architects)

Building Award Winner: 

•  Lakehouse Residence (Allegretti Architects);

•  Taubman Center For Design Education (Albert Kahn Associates);

•  Wells Hall Language Arts Building (Hamilton Anderson Associates & Integrated Design Solutions);

•  Bagley Avenue Pedestrian Bridge (InForm Studio);

•  Eli and Edythe Broad Art Museum (Integrated Design Solutions, Zaha Hadid Architects, Hamilton Anderson Associates)

•  John Ball Zoo Treehouse (Progressive AE);

•  Ottawa Street Power Station Rehabilitation (HOK, Quinn Evans Architects, TowerPinkster

Low Budget/Small Project Winners:

• 126K House (Paul Urbanek, FAIA);

• Shutter House (McIntosh Poris)

Unbuilt Project Winners: 

•  Memorial at Cameron (SmithGroupJJR);

•  A Dozen Playgrounds (MAde Studio);

•  Washtenaw County Eastside Recreation Center (Ply Architecture, MAde Studio)

Student Project Winners:

•  The Dependency of Production, Graduate Thesis (Christopher Allick, University of Detroit Mercy)

•  2013 Campus Master Plan & Design Guidelines for Andrews University (2012 Campus Design Studio at Andrews University)

 Click here for all photos of recognitions and design award winners.