Dearborn’s Automotive Hall of Fame Names 2016 Inductees


Ralph Nader, author, politician, and automotive safety advocate; Alan Mulally, former president and CEO of Ford Motor Co.; Roy C. Lunn, engineer of Ford’s GT40; and Bertha Benz, wife and business partner of automobile inventor Carl Benz, will be inducted into the Automotive Hall of Fame in July at the organization’s 2016 Induction and Awards Gala Ceremony in Detroit.

“We are pleased to induct four individuals whose entrepreneurial spirit helped create today’s global automotive industry,” says William R. Chapin, president of the Automotive Hall of Fame in Dearborn. “Each made their unique vision a reality through tenacity, creativity, and forward thinking traits that still drive the auto industry evolution today.”

Matthew J. Simoncini, president and CEO of Southfield-based automotive supplier Lear Corp., will receive the organization’s 2016 Industry Leader of the Year award.

Michael Manley, head of FCA US LLC’s Jeep and Ram brands, and COO of the company’s Asia region, will receive the 2016 Distinguished Service award for his efforts to revitalize the Jeep brand.

The 2016 Automotive Hall of Fame Induction and Awards Gala Ceremony will take place on July 21 at Cobo Center, located at 1 Washington Blvd.

Founded in 1939, the Automotive Hall of Fame has honored nearly 800 men and women from around the world.

To learn more, visit