Automotive Hall of Fame Celebrates 50 Years of Honorees, Announces 2017 Inductees


Dearborn’s Automotive Hall of Fame will induct four new members to its ranks during its 2017 Induction and Awards Gala Ceremony at Detroit’s Cobo Center on July 20.

Inductees include Alberto Bombassei, president of Brembo; August Fruehauf, inventor of the semi-trailer and founder of the Freuhauf Trailer Co.; Jack Roush, founder and CEO of Roush Fenway Racing in Livonia; and Edward Welburn, former vice president of global design for General Motors Co.

“We are pleased to honor these individuals whose entrepreneurial spirit helped shape today’s global transportation industry,” says William R. Chapin, president of the Automotive Hall of Fame. “Each made his unique vision a reality through tenacity, creativity, and forward thinking, traits that still drive the industry’s evolution today. The Automotive Hall of Fame is proud to recognize these individuals and their achievements.”

Chapin says that induction to the Automotive Hall of Fame is reserved for noteworthy individuals who have made significant contributions to the industry.

Created in 1967, the inaugural class of inductees included Henry Ford, Alfred P. Sloan, William C. Durant, and Walter P. Chrysler. The Automotive Hall of Fame has honored nearly 800 men and women worldwide since that time.

The 2017 Induction will take place on July 20 at 6 p.m. Tickets for the black tie event can be purchased here.

Facebook Comments